Nanotechnology Project


Revisiting the Toxic Substances Control Act of 1976

First hearing to examine toxics law in 111th Congress

J. Clarence (Terry) DaviesWashington, DC - Today the U.S. House of Representatives began the process of re-examining the Toxic Substances Control Act of 1976 (TSCA). According to the the Subcommittee on Commerce, Trade, and Consumer Protection, “The hearing will address critical gaps in the statute and explore how these gaps hinder effective chemical safety policy in the United States.”

TSCA gives the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) the authority to require “reporting, record-keeping and testing requirements, and restrictions relating to chemical substances and/or mixtures.” Today’s hearing was significant because it follows the release of a major report on the voluntary Nanoscale Materials Stewardship Program, which says the agency will consider how best to apply regulatory approaches to nanomaterials under TSCA. Such action may help EPA to address the data gaps on existing chemical nanoscale material production.

Hearing witnesses:

  • John Stephenson, Director, Natural Resources and the Environment, Government Accountability Office
  • J. Clarence Davies, Senior Fellow, Resources for the Future (Former EPA Assistant Administrator for Policy in the George H.W. Bush Administration)
  • Maureen Swanson, Healthy Children Project Coordinator, Learning Disabilities Association of America
  • Cecil Corbin-Mark, Deputy Director/Director for Policy Initiatives, WE ACT For Environmental Justice (West Harlem Environmental Action)
  • Michael Wright, Director of Health and Safety, United Steelworkers
  • Richard Denison, Senior Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund
  • Kathy Gerwig, Vice President, Workplace Safety and Environmental Stewardship Officer, Kaiser Permanente
  • Cal Dooley, President and CEO, American Chemistry Council
  • V.M. DeLisi, President, Fanwood Chemical, Inc., Chairman, International Affairs Committee, Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturers Association
  • Charles T. Drevna, President, National Petrochemical & Refiners Association

Other statements:

clockwise from left: panel being sworn in, J. Clarence Davies, Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA)